مؤسسة Children's Foundation تمنح Gleaners $20،000 منحة لتحسين صحة الأطفال في ميشيغان

يوفر الحليب الطازج العناصر الغذائية لمساعدة الأطفال على النمو بصحة جيدة وسعادة. توصي وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية الأطفال بتلقي ثلاث حصص من منتجات الألبان كل يوم. لكن بالنسبة للعائلات التي تكافح من أجل وضع الطعام على المائدة ، غالبًا ما يكون الحليب بعيد المنال. في جلينرز ، الحليب هو العنصر الأكثر طلبًا من قبل أولئك الذين نخدمهم ، ومع ذلك نادرًا ما يتم التبرع به.

تقدر منظمة Feeding America أن 300000 طفل يعيشون في جنوب شرق ميشيغان يواجهون ضغوط الجوع المزمنة. يعتبر تزويد هؤلاء الأطفال الصغار وعائلاتهم بالطعام المغذي أولوية قصوى في جلينرز. لقد كان تركيزنا هو الحصول على أكبر قدر ممكن من الحليب الطازج وتوزيعه. أدت هذه الجهود إلى زيادة توزيع الحليب لدينا من صفر جالون في عام 2015 إلى أكثر من 415 ألف جالون في عام 2019.

في كانون الأول (ديسمبر) ، تلقت شركة جلينرز منحة قدرها 1T4T20،000 من مؤسسة Children's Foundation لدعم توزيع الحليب الطازج الأسبوعي على الأطفال والعائلات في جميع أنحاء جنوب شرق ميشيغان.

في العام الماضي ، وزعت شركة Gleaners ثماني شاحنات من الحليب شهريًا على الأطفال والأسر من خلال 96 موقعًا لتخزين الأطعمة المدرسية المتنقلة وشبكتنا المكونة من 519 وكالة شريكة. مع وجود نماذج لوجستية وتوصيلية بالفعل ، فإن فريقنا لديه القدرة والخبرة لتوسيع توزيعنا للحليب الطازج في عام 2020.

سيساعد دعم مؤسسة الأطفال Gleaners في الحصول على الحليب المغذي اللازم لتحقيق هذا الهدف. نحن ممتنون لهذه الشراكة التي تساعد في تحقيق مهمتنا المشتركة لتقديم طعام مغذي من أجل تحسين صحة الأطفال في ميشيغان. 

اعثر على مزيد من المعلومات حول توزيع الحليب لدينا وانضم إلى حركة MILK هنا.

أصبح هذا المشروع ممكناً بفضل التمويل المقدم من مؤسسة الأطفال.

Children’s Foundation Awards Gleaners $50,000 Grant to Improve the Health of Children in Michigan

Fresh milk offers nutrients to help kids grow up healthy and happy. The USDA recommends children receive three servings of dairy each day. But for families struggling to put food on the table, milk is often out of reach. At Gleaners, milk is the most requested item by those we serve, yet it is rarely donated.

Feeding America estimates that 300,000 children living in southeast Michigan face the chronic stress of hunger. Providing these young kids and their families with nutritious food is a top priority at Gleaners. It has been our focus to acquire and distribute as much fresh milk as possible. These efforts have increased our milk distribution from zero gallons in 2015 to more than 408,000 gallons in 2019.

In December, Gleaners received a $50,000 grant from the Children’s Foundation in support of our weekly fresh milk distribution to children and families across southeast Michigan.

Last year, Gleaners distributed eight truckloads of milk per month to children and families through 96 school food mobile pantry sites and our network of 519 partner agencies. With logistic and delivery models already in place, our team has the ability and expertise to expand our distribution of fresh milk in 2020.

The support of the Children’s Foundation will help Gleaners acquire the nutritious milk needed to meet this goal. We are grateful for this partnership that helps fulfill our shared mission to deliver nutritious food in order to improve the health of children in Michigan. 

Find more information about our milk distribution and join the M.I.L.K movement here.

This project was made possible by funding provided by the Children’s Foundation.