مكرسة لتوصيل الأطعمة المغذية أثناء حالة الطوارئ

خلال جائحة كوفيد-19، يواجه المحتاجون المزيد من العوائق عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحصول على وجبات شاملة. في حين فقدت ملايين الأسر في جميع أنحاء ميشيغان دخلها، ارتفعت أسعار البقالة بمقدار 2.6% في أبريل. وهذه هي أكبر زيادة شهرية منذ عام 1974، وفقا ل مكتب إحصاءات العمل.

من قيادتنا توزيعات الطعام إلى الدعم المستمر للوكالات الشريكة لنا - هدفنا هو تقديم الطعام المغذي. يحصل الضيوف على بقالة متوازنة، بما في ذلك الحليب الطازج والفواكه والخضروات والبروتين الخالي من الدهون والمواد القابلة للحفظ. أملنا أنه من خلال تقديم طعام عالي الجودة بكميات أكبر، نساعد العائلات والأفراد على البقاء في منازلهم، والبقاء آمنين، والبقاء متغذيين خلال وقت الحاجة الملح هذا.

Nutritious fruit and vegetables provided to families in need in Detroit, Michigan.
يتم توفير 36 رطلاً من أغذية الطوارئ ، بما في ذلك الفواكه والخضروات الطازجة للأسر المحتاجة في ديترويت ، ميشيغان.

يتم تسليم البقالة من خلال التوزيعات السريعة

منذ منتصف مارس، ما يصل إلى ستة محركات الأقراص توزيع المواد الغذائية تعمل المواقع خمسة أيام في الأسبوع، مع أحداث يوم السبت بالتناوب. يضمن قدر كبير من التخطيط والخدمات اللوجستية أن تحصل كل أسرة نخدمها على مجموعة متنوعة من الأطعمة المغذية. تساعد نيكول زاميت، مديرة برنامج الوصول إلى الغذاء في Gleaners، في بناء قائمة الطعام في عمليات التوزيع الخاصة بنا، مما يضمن أن كل موقع يمكنه تقديم طعام مغذٍ لتلبية احتياجات الأطفال المتناميين وأسرهم.

يتم نقل مجموعات أغذية الطوارئ المصنفة والمعبأة من مراكز توزيع جلينرز إلى مواقع توزيع الأغذية بواسطة شاحنات مبردة كبيرة. في الموقع، يقوم موظفو Gleaners بتنظيم كل نوع من الطعام في أجزاء بحجم الأسرة. وبدعم من وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية والحكومات المحلية وعدد لا يحصى من المانحين والداعمين للأغذية، تحصل كل أسرة تزور توزيعاتنا على ما متوسطه 36 جنيهًا إسترلينيًا - أي ما يعادل 30 وجبة للبالغين. يقوم الموظفون بوضع كل نوع من الطعام بعناية في صندوق السيارة، ويكون الضيوف في طريقهم لتناول الطعام الصحي.

ماذا يقول الضيوف:
“كنت سعيداً جداً بالطعام؛ لقد كان من الصعب جدًا الوصول إلى المتجر.

"يمكنني استخدام الطعام على الفور... لقد تمكنت من إعداد سمك التونة للأطفال لتناول طعام الغداء وأعدت لهم أيضًا وجبات خفيفة مع التفاح وزبدة الفول السوداني."

"إنه كل الطعام الذي كنت أشتريه عادة... وكان لدي أشياء لا تتوفر في المتجر مثل البطاطس والبصل."

أفادت دراسة استقصائية حديثة لمجموعة عينة من الضيوف أن 70% من الأسر التي تخدمها هذه المواقع قد حضرت عمليتين توزيع على الأقل - مما يدل على أن مستوى الحاجة المتزايدة لا يزال ثابتًا.

ستقوم مواقع توزيع المواد الغذائية التابعة لشركة Gleaners بتوزيع المواد الغذائية حتى نهاية شهر سبتمبر. تعمل معظم المواقع كل أسبوعين، بينما تعمل بعض المواقع شهريًا.

المزيد من المنتجات في الطريق

في أبريل ومايو، وزعت مجلة جلينرز 6.4 مليون رطل من الطعام، أي ضعف الكمية العادية. وكان ما يقرب من 30% من هذا الطعام عبارة عن فواكه وخضروات طازجة. وبمساعدة الموزعين المحليين، ستقدم كل مواقع توزيع المواد الغذائية لدينا المزيد من المنتجات الطازجة للعائلات المحتاجة بدءًا من 18 مايو.

وقد أصبح هذا ممكنا من خلال وزارة الزراعة الأمريكية برنامج المساعدات الغذائية لفيروس كورونا. وفي منتصف أبريل، تم الإعلان عن خطة لدعم الصناعة الزراعية من خلال شراء منتجات الألبان واللحوم والمنتجات لتوزيعها على بنوك الطعام. يقدم هذا الدعم الإغاثة للمزارعين المحليين ومربي الماشية والموزعين المتضررين من الأزمة، ويسمح لبنوك الطعام والمنظمات المجتمعية بمواصلة تقديم الطعام المغذي لجيراننا الجياع.

المزيد من الحليب في العبور
خلال شهر أبريل، شهدت شركة Gleaners رقمًا قياسيًا جديدًا لتوزيع الحليب - 54000 جالون! أصبح هذا الإنجاز ممكنًا بفضل المركبات المبردة الجديدة بفضل تبرعات شركة Blue Cross Blue Shield في ميشيغان، الناقل وصناعة الألبان المتحدة في ميشيغان. سيساعد هذا الدعم Gleaners على الوصول إلى هدفنا المتمثل في توصيل الحليب الطازج في كل موقع من مواقع توزيع الطعام الخاصة بنا وهواتف الطعام المدرسية.

يعد الحليب أحد العناصر الأكثر طلبًا ولكن نادرًا ما يتم التبرع بها في Gleaners. على مدى السنوات الأربع الماضية، بذل فريقنا عملاً دؤوبًا ومبتكرًا لتوصيل هذا المنتج ذو القيمة الغذائية العالية والقابل للتلف إلى الأشخاص المحتاجين. اقرأ المزيد هنا.

يقوم موظفو جلينرز بتعبئة صناديق المواد الغذائية الطارئة في أحد المستودعات في ديترويت.

أغذية متوازنة وعالية البروتين للمجتمعات المعرضة للخطر

بالشراكة مع مجلس بنك الطعام في ميشيغان وحكومات الولايات، أنتجت Gleaners عدة موجات من صناديق الطعام الطارئة خلال الأزمة الحالية. تقوم سارة ميلز، مديرة التثقيف الصحي والتغذية في Gleaners بتصميم كل قائمة طعام بعناية مع ما يكفي من الأطعمة المتوازنة غذائيًا والمستقرة على الرفوف لحوالي 22 وجبة. الطعام صحي ومتعدد الاستخدامات، مما يسمح لضيوفنا باستخدام المنتجات بطرق متعددة وإعداد خيارات صحية لوجبات الإفطار والغداء والعشاء. يقوم فريق ميلز أيضًا بإنشاء وصفة مخصصة ومعلومات غذائية لكل صندوق.

يتم بناء صناديق الطوارئ في مراكز التوزيع التابعة لنا في مقاطعة أوكلاند وواين. تعمل Gleaners مع مجموعة واسعة من الشركاء لضمان تسليم هذه الصناديق إلى جيراننا الأكثر عرضة للخطر، بما في ذلك كبار السن والمحاربين القدامى ومرضى الرعاية الصحية والأمهات الجدد وغيرهم الكثير.

المنتجات الطازجة في مخازن Gleaners والوكالات الشريكة
وبينما نواصل توزيع المواد الغذائية على شبكة الوكالات الشريكة لدينا، تظل المنتجات الطازجة أولوية قصوى. على سبيل المثال، خلال شهر أبريل/نيسان، قام مركز الغذاء ميركادو التابع لشركة جلينرز في جنوب غرب ديترويت بتوزيع أكثر من 54 ألف رطل من الفواكه والخضروات على الأسر المحتاجة.

في عام 2019، شكلت المنتجات الطازجة 37% من توزيع المواد الغذائية في Gleaners. وقد أصبح ذلك ممكنا من خلال الشراكات مع المزارعين المحليين ومنتجي الأغذية، فضلا عن العمل مع الوكالات الشريكة لدينا لضمان إمكانية تسليم المنتجات الطازجة بأمان إلى المحتاجين. اقرأ المزيد عن عملنا الأخير لزيادة الوصول إلى المنتجات الطازجة هنا.

الأخوان جيمس وبايرون يزوران مركز توزيع المواد الغذائية لشركة Gleaners في ديترويت.

أثناء التوزيع في كنيسة الأمل الثالث المعمدانية في ديترويت، انتظر الأخوان جيمس وبايرون في الطابور للحصول على طعام الطوارئ. يعيش الأخوة معًا، ويربون أطفالهم الصغار ويعتنون بأمهم المسنة تحت سقف واحد. بسبب أمر "البقاء في المنزل، البقاء آمنًا"، فقد كل من جيمس وبايرون دخلهما، تاركين الأسرة بأكملها دون دعم مالي. تم تسريح جيمس من وظيفة التصنيع، وتم تعليق عمل بايرون كسائق شاحنة. ومع عدم وجود دخل، أصبح إطعام أطفالهم صراعًا يوميًا. "تقدم بعض المطاعم طعامًا مجانيًا للأطفال، وهو أمر رائع! وقال جيمس: "لكن الطعام الذي نتلقاه من هذا التوزيع يستمر لفترة أطول بكثير وأعتقد أنه أفضل لأطفالنا". "يبدو أن ديترويت قد تضررت بشدة، ونحن نعلم أننا لسنا وحدنا في هذا الألم. إن ما يمكن أن يفعله جلينرز ومخازن الطعام سيحدث فرقًا حقيقيًا. وساعدنا على البقاء آمنين."

Dedicated to Delivering Nutritious Food During a State of Emergency

During the COVID-19 pandemic, people in need are facing even more barriers when it comes to accessing well-rounded meals. While millions of households across Michigan have lost income, the price of groceries grew by 2.6% in April. That is the largest monthly increase since 1974, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

From our drive-up food distributions to ongoing support for our partner agencies—our aim is to deliver nutritious food. Guests receive well-balanced groceries, including fresh milk, fruits, vegetables, lean protein and shelf-stable items. Our hope that by offering quality food in higher quantities, we are helping families and individuals stay home, stay safe, and stay nourished during this urgent time of need.

Nutritious fruit and vegetables provided to families in need in Detroit, Michigan.
36 pounds of emergency food, including fresh fruit and vegetables are provided to families in need in Detroit, Michigan.

Groceries Delivered through Drive-up Distributions

Since mid-March, up to six drive-up food distribution sites have been operating five days a week, with alternating Saturday events. A great deal of planning and logistics ensures each household we serve receives a variety of nutritious food. Nicole Zammit, Food Access Program Manager at Gleaners, helps build the food menu at our drive-up distributions, ensuring each site can offer nutritious food to meet the needs of growing kids and their families.

Palettes of sorted and packed emergency food are transported from Gleaners’ Distribution Centers to food distribution sites by large refrigerated trucks. On location, Gleaners’ staff organizes each type of food into household-sized portions. With the support of the USDA, local governments and countless food donors and supporters, each family who visits our distributions receives an average of 36 pounds—the equivalent of 30 adult meals. Staff carefully places each type of food in the trunk of a car, and guests are on their way to eating healthy.

What guests are saying:
“I was very happy with the food; it has been very difficult to get to the store.”

“I can use the food right away… I was able to make the kids tuna for lunch and also made them snacks with apples and peanut butter.”

“It’s all the food I would normally buy…and had items that the store did not have like potatoes and onions.”

A recent survey of a sample set of guests reported that 70% of households these sites serve have attended at least two distributions—showing that the increase level of need remains consistent.

Gleaners’ drive-up food distribution sites will distribute food through the end of September. Most of the sites operate every other week, with some of the locations operating monthly.

More Produce is on the Way

In the first two months of our emergency response efforts, Gleaners distributed 6.4 million pounds of food—twice the normal amount. Nearly 30% of this food was fresh fruits and vegetables. With the help of local distributors, each of our food distribution sites will be offering even more fresh produce to families in need starting May 18.

This is made possible through the USDA’s Coronavirus Food Assistance Program. In mid-April the plan was announced to support the agriculture industry by purchasing dairy, meat and produce to distribute to food banks. This support offers relief to local farmers, ranchers and distributors affected by the crisis, and allows food banks and community organizations to continue to deliver nutritious food to our hungry neighbors.

More Milk in Transit
During the month of April, Gleaners saw a new record for milk distribution—54,000 gallons! This accomplishment was made possible by new refrigerated vehicles due to donations by Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, Carrier and the United Dairy Industry of Michigan. This support will help Gleaners reach our goal to deliver fresh milk at each of our drive-up food distribution sites and School Food Mobiles.

Milk is one of our most requested but rarely donated items at Gleaners. Over the past four years, our team has put in diligent and innovative work to deliver this highly nutritious, yet perishable item out to people in need. Read more here.

Gleaners staff packs boxes of emergency food at a warehouse in Detroit.

Well-balanced, High Protein Foods for At-risk Communities

In partnership with the Food Bank Council of Michigan and state governments, Gleaners has produced several waves of emergency food boxes during the current crisis. Sarah Mills, Director of Wellness and Nutrition Education at Gleaners carefully designs each box menu with enough nutritionally balanced shelf-stable foods for approximately 22 meals. The food is both healthy and versatile, allowing our guests to use the products in multiple ways and prepare wholesome breakfast, lunch and dinner options. Mills’ team also creates custom recipe and nutrition information for each box.

Emergency boxes are being built at our Distribution Centers in Oakland and Wayne county. Gleaners is working with a wide variety of partners to ensure these boxes are delivered to our most at-risk neighbors, including seniors, veterans, healthcare patients, new mothers, and many others.

Fresh Produce at Gleaners’ Pantries & Partner Agencies
As we continue to distribute food to our network of partner agencies, fresh produce remains a top priority. For example, during the month of April, Gleaners’ Mercado Food Hub in southwest Detroit distributed more than 54,000 pounds of fruits and vegetables to households in need.

In 2019, fresh produce accounted for 37% of Gleaners’ food distribution. This was made possible through partnerships with local farmers and food producers, as well as working with our partner agencies to ensure fresh produce can be safely delivered to people in need. Read more about our recent work to increase access to fresh produce here.

Brothers James and Byron visit a Gleaners food distribution in Detroit.

During a distribution at Third Hope Baptist Church in Detroit, brothers James and Byron waited in line for emergency food. The brothers live together, raising their young children and taking care of their elderly mother under one roof. Due to the ‘Stay Home, Stay Safe’ order, both James and Byron have lost their income, leaving the entire household without financial support. James was laid off from a manufacturing job, and Byron’s work as a truck driver was suspended. With no income, feeding their kids has become a daily struggle. “Some restaurants are offering free food to kids—which is great! But the food we receive from this distribution lasts much longer and I think it’s better for our kids,” said James. “It seems like Detroit is hit hard, and we know we aren’t alone in this pain. What Gleaners and the food pantries can do will truly make a difference. And help us stay safe.”