حصل جلينرز على جائزة "التأثير المتميز"

ديترويت - حصل بنك الطعام المجتمعي جلينرز ، ومقره في ديترويت ويخدم خمس مقاطعات في جنوب شرق ميشيغان ، على جائزة "التأثير المجتمعي المتميز" لمركز الابتكار للألبان الأمريكية (مركز الابتكار). يعترف برنامج التقدير الوطني بمزارع الألبان والشركات والشراكات التي تعمل ممارساتها على تحسين رفاهية الناس والحيوانات والكوكب.

تم التعرف على جلينرز لقدرته على التأثير بشكل إيجابي على حياة الأطفال والأسر من خلال الوصول إلى العناصر الغذائية في الحليب الطازج. للتغلب على التحديات التي تمنع المنظمة من توزيع الحليب على نطاق واسع من خلال شبكتها مؤخرًا في عام 2013 ، قدمت Gleaners بشكل مستدام 229000 جالون من الحليب للمحتاجين في عام 2018. على مدار السنوات الخمس الماضية ، وزعت Gleaners أكثر من 560.000 جالون من الحليب إلى مترو مجتمع ديترويت.

قال بارب أوبراين ، رئيس مركز الابتكار: "يقود بنك الطعام المجتمعي جلينرز زمام المبادرة لزيادة توافر أغذية الألبان الغنية بالمغذيات للمحتاجين - وهي قضية مهمة لمجتمع الألبان ومزارعي الألبان". "من خلال الابتكار والعاطفة العميقة الجذور لمساعدة الآخرين ، تقدم Gleaners حلول الجوع للأسر التي تفتقر إلى الوصول إلى التغذية الجيدة. يضع نجاح جلينرز أساسًا يمكن للمنظمات الأخرى في جميع أنحاء البلاد تكراره حتى نتمكن معًا من المساعدة في الحد من انعدام الأمن الغذائي في مجتمعاتنا ".

من خلال الشراكات مع United Dairy Industry لمزارعي الألبان في ميشيغان وميتشيغان ، عززت شركة Gleaners الأموال المتبرع بها وقدرتها الشرائية لتأمين الحليب بأقل سعر ، مما أدى إلى زيادة حجم الحليب المتاح للتسليم. قامت شركة جلينرز أيضًا بتبسيط العمليات لإيصال الحليب المبرد للأسر المحتاجة بسرعة أكبر من خلال برنامج مخزن الطعام المتنقل وموارد التوصيل المخصصة للتغلب على التحدي اللوجستي المتمثل في الحفاظ على نضارة.

"الحليب هو أحد العناصر الأكثر طلبًا في مخازن الطعام ، ولكنه من أقل المواد الغذائية التي يتم التبرع بها. قالت جولي بيمر ، مديرة العمليات في شركة جلينرز: "لأن الحليب يمكن أن يكون مكلفًا بالنسبة للعائلات ، فإن الكثيرين يذهبون بدونه". "استفادت جلينرز من قوة علاقاتها مع United Dairy Industry في ميشيغان ومزارعي الألبان في ميشيغان للمساعدة في تغيير ذلك. عامًا بعد عام على مدى السنوات الخمس الماضية ، قمنا بزيادة توزيع الحليب على العائلات المحتاجة ، ولدينا خطط للبناء على هذا الزخم ".

حول بنك الطعام المجتمعي جلينرز

يقع المقر الرئيسي لشركة Gleaners في ديترويت ، وتدير خمسة مراكز توزيع في مقاطعات واين وأوكلاند وماكومب وليفينجستون ومونرو وتوفر الطعام لـ 528 من مطابخ الحساء الشريكة ومخازن الطعام والملاجئ والوكالات الأخرى في جميع أنحاء جنوب شرق ميشيغان. حصل جلينرز ، الذي أطلق عليه اسم بنك الطعام لعام 2019 في Feeding America's ، على توزيع أكثر من 43 مليون رطل من الطعام على الجيران المحتاجين في عام 2018. وفي المتوسط ، توزع Gleaners ما يعادل 96348 وجبة يوميًا وتوفر طعامًا مغذيًا لـ 430.000 شخص ، من بينهم 171.000 طفل. سنة. كل دولار يتم التبرع به يقدم ثلاث وجبات ، ويذهب 93 سنتًا من كل دولار يتم التبرع به إلى برامج الغذاء والغذاء. للمزيد من المعلومات قم بزيارة www.gcfb.org.

حول مركز الابتكار لمنتجات الألبان الأمريكية

مركز الابتكار لمنتجات الألبان الأمريكية®هو منتدى يجمع مجتمع الألبان معًا لتلبية الاحتياجات والتوقعات المتغيرة للمستهلكين من خلال إطار عمل مشترك لأفضل الممارسات والمساءلة. بدأنا في عام 2008 من قبل مزارعي الألبان من خلال فحص منتجات الألبان ، ونحن نتعاون في الجهود التي تعتبر مهمة لنا ولعملائنا الكرام - قضايا مثل رعاية الحيوان وسلامة الأغذية والتغذية والصحة والبيئة والاقتصاد. يلتزم مركز الابتكار بالتحسين المستمر من المزرعة إلى المائدة ، ويسعى جاهداً لضمان مجتمع ألبان مسؤول اجتماعياً ومجدي اقتصادياً. USDairy.com لمزيد من المعلومات حول مركز الابتكار لمنتجات الألبان الأمريكية.

Skip to content

Gleaners Awarded for ‘Outstanding Impact’

DETROIT – Gleaners Community Food Bank, based in Detroit and serving five counties in Southeast Michigan, has earned the The Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy’s (Innovation Center) “Outstanding Community Impact” Award. The national acknowledgment program recognizes dairy farms, businesses and partnerships whose practices improve the well-being of people, animals and the planet.

Gleaners was recognized for its ability to positively affect the lives of children and families with access to the nutrients in fresh milk. Overcoming challenges preventing the organization from widely distributing milk through its network as recently as 2013, Gleaners has sustainably provided 229,000 gallons of milk to those in need in 2018. Over the past five years, Gleaners has distributed more than 560,000 gallons of milk to the Metro Detroit community.

“Gleaners Community Food Bank is leading the charge to increase the availability of nutrient-rich dairy foods to those in need – an issue that is important to the dairy community and dairy farmers,” said Barb O’Brien, president of the Innovation Center. “Through innovation and a deeply rooted passion to help others, Gleaners is providing hunger solutions to families who lack access to good nutrition. Gleaners’ success lays a foundation that other organizations around the country can replicate so together we can help reduce food insecurity in our communities.”

Through partnerships with the United Dairy Industry of Michigan and Michigan dairy farmers, Gleaners maximized donated funds and its purchasing power to secure milk at the lowest price, increasing the volume of milk available for delivery. Gleaners also streamlined operations to get refrigerated milk to families in need more quickly through its mobile food pantry program and dedicated delivery resources to overcome the logistical challenge of maintaining freshness.

“Milk is one of the most requested items at food pantries, but it is one of the least donated food items. Because milk can be expensive for families, many go without,” said Julie Beamer, chief operating officer for Gleaners. “Gleaners leveraged the power of its relationships with United Dairy Industry of Michigan and Michigan’s dairy farmers to help change that. Year over year for the past five years, we have increased our distribution of milk to families in need, and we have plans in place to build on that momentum.”

About Gleaners Community Food Bank

Headquartered in Detroit, Gleaners operates five distribution centers in Wayne, Oakland, Macomb, Livingston and Monroe counties and provides food to 528 partner soup kitchens, food pantries, shelters and other agencies throughout southeastern Michigan. Named Feeding America’s 2019 Food Bank of the Year, Gleaners distributed more than 43 million pounds of food to neighbors in need in 2018. On average, Gleaners distributes the equivalent of 96,348 meals each day and provides nourishing food to 430,000 people, including 171,000 children a year. Every dollar donated provides three meals, and 93 cents of every donated dollar goes to food and food programs. For more information, visit www.gcfb.org.

About Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy

Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy®is a forum that brings together the dairy community to address the changing needs and expectations of consumers through a framework of shared best practices and accountability. Initiated in 2008 by dairy farmers through the dairy checkoff, we collaborate on efforts that are important both to us and our valued customers – issues like animal care, food safety, nutrition and health, the environment and economics. The Innovation Center is committed to continuous improvement from farm to table, striving to ensure a socially responsible and economically viable dairy community.Visit USDairy.com for more information about the Innovation Center for U.S. Dairy.