Gleaners Wins Governor’s Service Award!

Originally posted on

Winners will be honored at the Fox Theatre on Nov. 17 in Detroit

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer and the Michigan Community Service Commission today announced 46 individuals, businesses and nonprofit organizations recipients of the 2022 Governor’s Service Awards and applauded their commitment to volunteerism, service or philanthropy.

“Michigan succeeds because of Michiganders who go above and beyond to serve their communities and lift up others,” said Governor Whitmer. “This year’s winners get things done even when nobody’s looking because they know that every contribution makes a huge impact. I am honored to present the Governor’s Service Awards to this year’s 46 recipients and urge every Michigander to get involved in their community so we can move our state forward together.”

The Michigan Community Service Commission will host the 2022 Governor’s Service Awards on Nov. 17, 7 p.m. at the Fox Theatre in Detroit. Admission to event is free, but registration is required. To register, visit

To recognize those who go above and beyond, the Governor’s Service Awards have been presented since 1994. The Michigan Community Service Commission supports Michigan volunteers, organizations and businesses that are committed to service and play a critical role in improving the lives of our people and communities.

“We are proud to recognize this remarkable group of Michiganders who are an inspiration when it comes to helping others,” said Michigan Community Service Commission Executive Director Ginna Holmes. “Their service has strengthened communities and made our state more resilient.”

The winners include:

Health Impact Award:

Gleaners (Southeast Michigan)

Gleaners Community Food Bank provides households with access to sufficient, nutritious food and related resources. They accomplish this through collaboration, efficient operations, education, and innovative solutions to achieve a hunger-free community.  Headquartered in Detroit, Gleaners serves five southeastern Michigan counties: Wayne, Oakland, Macomb, Livingston and Monroe, providing food through more than 600 partner agencies, including schools, soup kitchens, food pantries, shelters, and others. Last year, Gleaners distributed more than 47 million pounds of food – including 16 million pounds of fresh produce and more than 5 million pounds of dairy – and empowered more than 600,000 households across Southeast Michigan with food and food programs, with more than 1.5 million touchpoints. In 2019, Gleaners was named “Food Bank of the Year” by Feeding America, a national association of more than 200 food banks, and Gleaners was one of the first food banks in the U.S. to launch programs addressing the link between food insecurity and health, forming partnerships with healthcare institutions, government, and corporations, among others. Beginning in 2017, Gleaners partnered with Henry Ford Health System to offer Henry’s Groceries for Health. Over the course of two phases, the program delivered nutritious food boxes to over 1,000 patients experiencing food insecurity and managing chronic illness. Earning national recognition and healthcare awards, Gleaners is currently pursuing opportunities that will further expand Henry’s Groceries’ proven impact. Every dollar donated to Gleaners provides three meals, and 94 cents of every donated dollar goes to food and food programs. Together with devoted volunteers providing thousands of service hours, Gleaners is dedicated to solving hunger in Southeast Michigan, bringing greater health, stability, and empowerment to families.

Katherine Heath (Bloomfield Hills), Alison Jakubcin (Alpena), Jim Kaski (St. Clair County), Dr. Michael Lutz (Rochester Hills), Dr. Amy Yorke (Flint), Lighthouse (Oakland County)

Lifetime Humanitarian Award: Gail Perry-Mason (Detroit)

Governor George Romney Lifetime Achievement Award: Marlowe Stoudamire (posthumously)

Philanthropist Award: Izzo Legacy Family Fund (East Lansing)

Civic Engagement Impact Award: Astrid Fan (East Lansing), Krish Ghosalkar (Troy), John Wesley Cromer, Jr. (Detroit), Irene Sinclair (Southfield), Paul Charette (Lansing), USP4GG Michigan (Sterling Heights), Challenge Detroit (Detroit)

Community Impact Award: Ava Bunao (Troy), Barbara Matney (Warrendale), Ford Resource and Engagement Center – Detroit East (Detroit), Michael Kent (Traverse City), Jane Beach (Edmore), Grow Benzie (Benzie County), Antionette Buckley (Flint)

Corporate Social Impact Award: Barton Malow (Southfield), Caster Concepts (Albion), Detroit Pistons (Detroit), Hemlock Semiconductor (Hemlock), Lake Trust Credit Union (Brighton)

Environmental Impact Award: Lorana Jinkerson (Marquette), Akshitha Sahu (Troy), Manistique Community Treehouse Center (Manistique), Peace Tree Parks (Detroit)

National Service Impact Award: Cortnie Parish (Howell), Thomas Steele (Swartz Creek), June Swift (Grand Rapids), YouthWork AmeriCorps– Child and Family Services of NW MI (Traverse City), Economic Opportunity Coaching Corps AmeriCorps – Peckham, Inc. (Lansing)

Youth Services Impact Award: Kimber Bishop-Yanke (Birmingham), Diane Feenstra (Traverse City), Stephen D. Mayfield (Flint), Cathrine Ovenshire (posthumously), Elizabeth Voglewede (St. Joseph), Career Technical Education Committee (Marquette and Alger Counties) Detroit Economic Club (Detroit), Rhonda Walker Foundation (Detroit)

Philanthropy Award – Izzo Legacy Family Fund
East Lansing

Lifetime Humanitarian – Gail Perry-Mason

George Romney Lifetime Achievement Award -Marlowe Stoudamire
Detroit – (Posthumously)

Civic Engagement Impact Award

Astrid Fan
East Lansing

Krish Ghosalkar

John Wesley Cromer, Jr.

Irene Sinclair

Paul Charette

USP4GG Michigan
Sterling Heights

Challenge Detroit

Community Impact Award

Ava Julianna Garza Bunao

Barbara Matney

Ford Resource and Engagement Center – Detroit East

Michael Kent
Traverse City  

Jane Beach

Grow Benzie
Benzie County

Antionette Buckley

Environmental Impact Award

Lorana Jinkerson

Akshitha Sahu

Manistique Community Treehouse Center

Peace Tree Parks

Health Wellness Impact Award

Katherine Heath
Bloomfield Hills

Alison Jakubcin

Jim Kaski
St. Clair County

Dr. Michael Lutz
Rochester Hills

Dr. Amy Yorke

Gleaners Community Food Bank
Southeast Michigan

Oakland County

National Service Impact Award

Cortnie Parish

Thomas Steele
Swartz Creek

June Swift
Grand Rapids

YouthWork AmeriCorps Program – Child and Family Services of Northwestern Michigan
Traverse City

Economic Opportunity Coaching Corps AmeriCorps Program – Peckham, Inc.

Youth Service Impact Award

Kimber Bishop-Yanke

Diane Feenstra
Traverse City

Stephen D. Mayfield

Cathrine Ovenshire

Elizabeth Voglewede
St. Joseph

Career Technical Education Committee – Marquette & Alger Counties
Marquette & Alger Counties

Detroit Economic Club

Rhonda Walker Foundation

Corporate Social Impact Award

Barton Malow

Detroit Pistons

Hemlock Semiconductor

Lake Trust Credit Union

Caster Concepts