تساعد آي تي سي هولدينجز في الحصول على قوة الرعاية

بصفتنا أمريكيين مهتمين ، نتطوع لما يقرب من 6.9 مليار ساعة من الوقت سنويًا ، وفقًا لتقرير التطوع في أمريكا لعام 2018. وينجذب الكثير منا إلى الأنشطة التي تلبي الاحتياجات الأساسية لزملائنا من أعضاء المجتمع. في الواقع ، يساهم أكثر من واحد من كل ثلاثة متطوعين بوقت للتبرع بالطعام أو لإعداد الوجبات.

هذا ليس مفاجئًا بشكل رهيب بالنسبة لدينيس ليدوك ، مديرة المشاركة المجتمعية في بنك الطعام المجتمعي في جلينرز ، التي تقول إن نوبات المتطوعين في جلينرز 57000 تم شغلها العام الماضي من قبل أشخاص متعاطفين يرغبون في الانخراط في أعمال الإغاثة من الجوع.

من بين هؤلاء المتطوعين ، هناك العديد من مجموعات الموظفين المكونة من 50 أو أكثر من شركات المنطقة التي تشمل Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan و GTB و Magna و Quicken و Ford Motor Company و GM و FCA و ITC Holdings Corp.

لقد كان مركز التجارة الدولية داعمًا لـ Gleaners - من خلال المنح والرعاية وحملات الغذاء - لأكثر من عقد من الزمان ، ولكنه عزز مؤخرًا تأثيره من خلال إشراك الموظفين على نطاق أوسع.

من خلال مبادرته الجديدة "قوة الرعاية" ، قام مركز التجارة الدولية بتوسيع برنامج العطاء الخيري ليشمل أنشطة الموظفين التطوعية في الوكالات المجتمعية عبر تواجده في سبع ولايات. وهذا يشمل جمع الموظفين معًا من أجل قضية محلية في يوم "قوة رعاية المتطوعين" على مستوى الشركة.

في ميشيغان ، تم تكريم جلينرز لتكون المؤسسة الخيرية المختارة التي استضافت 196 موظفًا ومديراً تنفيذيًا في مركز التجارة الدولية في تاريخين في سبتمبر.

قام متطوعو مركز التجارة الدولية بسحب الطلبات وتغليف المنتجات لدعم مهمة Gleaners. اختارت المنظمة جلينرز في أول يوم تطوعي لها على مستوى الشركة لأنها أرادت إحداث تأثير كبير والشراكة مع منظمة تخدم العديد من ميتشيغاندرز.

خلال فترة اليومين ، قام متطوعو مركز التجارة الدولية بتعبئة 6600 رطل من الكوسة و 12750 رطلاً من البطاطس. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قاموا بسحب 87285 رطلاً. قيمة الطلبات للوكالات الشريكة لـ Gleaners.

يقول ليدوك: "عمل المتطوعون في مركز التجارة الدولية بجد وكانوا سعداء بشكل واضح لوجودهم هنا للمساهمة في مهمة جلينرز". لقد تمكنوا من إدارة أكثر من 106000 رطل من الطعام ، وهو ما يعادل حوالي 87000 وجبة للمحتاجين.

تقول بوني فلاورز من مركز التجارة الدولية: "لقد أضاف يوم عملنا الواحد تأثيرًا مثيرًا للإعجاب لشركة Gleaners على المجتمعات التي تدعمها". "عندما تعتقد أنه ليس لديك وقت لتحقيق أي فائدة حقيقية ، فقط فكر في ما أنجزناه في غضون ساعات قليلة. ما زلت مندهشًا مما يفعله جلينرز ويسعدني جدًا أن أكون جزءًا منه ". 

لكن التأثير كان أكثر من مجرد أرقام لبعض متطوعي مركز التجارة الدولية. بالنسبة إلى Holly McGlinn ، فإن التطوع في Gleaners يذكرها أنه على الرغم من الأحداث المزعجة في العالم ، فإن الأشخاص الطيبين يقومون بأشياء جيدة. "العمل التطوعي في جلينرز هو التواضع ، والانتعاش ، والبحث عن الذات والتحقق من الأنا" ، كما يقول ماكغلين. "العمل التطوعي في Gleaners ... يبعث على الارتياح إذا كنت تريده ويثري إذا احتضنته."

سنويًا ، تقدر ساعات العمل التطوعي لدينا في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة بقيمة اقتصادية تقدر بـ 1 تيرابايت 4 تيرابايت 167 مليار (بناءً على تقدير القطاع المستقل لمتوسط قيمة ساعة المتطوعين لعام 2017). نحن نقدم الكثير للمساعدة في القضايا التي نهتم بها.

يستفيد Gleaners بشكل كبير من المتطوعين الذين يتواجدون في المستودع خمسة أيام في الأسبوع ، من الثلاثاء إلى السبت ؛ الوقت الذي يعطونه يساوي 74 موظفًا بدوام كامل.

يأتي بعض الأشخاص كأفراد أو في مجموعات صغيرة ، بينما يأتي البعض الآخر في مجموعات كبيرة. خلال العام الماضي ، حددت 38 مجموعة أعمال مناوبات تطوعية لـ 50 شخصًا أو أكثر. التأثير الذي تحدثه قابل للقياس ومؤثر.

تقول ليندا أبسي ، الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي لشركة ITC Holdings Corp ، في يوم المتطوعين على مستوى الشركة في ITC:

"إنها أحداث مثل اليوم هي التي تجسد الالتزام تجاه من نخدمهم. من المهم جدًا أن نتذكر أن تركيزنا على الابتكار وبناء شبكة أكبر له تأثير دائم - ليس فقط على القيمة التي نقدمها للعملاء ، ولكن التأثير الدائم الذي يمكننا إحداثه في مجتمعاتنا. " 

مجموعة المتطوعين في شركتك مرحب بها ومطلوبة ، مع الفرص المتاحة في مراكز توزيع Gleaners في ديترويت ووارن وتايلور وبونتياك وهويل. يتعلم أكثر هنا.

Skip to content

ITC Holdings Helps Gleaners with the Power of Caring

As caring Americans, we volunteer close to 6.9 billion hours of time annually, according to the 2018 Volunteering in America report. And many of us are drawn to activities that meet the basic needs of our fellow community members. In fact, more than one in three volunteers contribute time for food donation or meal preparation.

That’s not terribly surprising for Denise Leduc, director of community engagement at Gleaners Community Food Bank, who says that 57,000 Gleaners’ volunteer shifts were filled last year by compassionate people wanting to engage in hunger-relief work.

Of those volunteers, many are employee groups of 50 or more from area companies that include Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan, GTB, Magna, Quicken, Ford Motor Company, GM, FCA, and ITC Holdings Corp.

ITC has been a supporter of Gleaners – with grants, sponsorships and food drives – for more than a decade, but recently stepped up its impact by engaging employees on a larger scale.

Through its new Power of Caring initiative, ITC has expanded its charitable giving program to include employee volunteer activities at community agencies across its seven-state footprint. This includes bringing employees together for a local cause at a company-wide Power of Caring Volunteer Day.

In Michigan, Gleaners was honored to be the chosen charity that hosted 196 ITC employees and executives on two dates in September.

ITC volunteers pulled orders and packed produce in support of Gleaners’ mission. The organization chose Gleaners for its first all-company volunteer day because it wanted to make a big impact and partner with an organization that serves many Michiganders.

During the two-day period, ITC volunteers packed 6,600 pounds of zucchini and 12,750 pounds of potatoes. Additionally, they pulled 87,285 lbs. worth of orders for Gleaners’ partner agencies.

“The ITC volunteers worked hard and were clearly happy to be here contributing to Gleaners’ mission,” says Leduc. They managed more than 106,000 pounds of food, which equates to around 87,000 meals for people in need.

“Our one day of work added to Gleaners’ already impressive impact on the communities they support,” says ITC’s Bonnie Flowers. “When you think you don’t have time to be of any real benefit, just think back to what we accomplished in a few short hours. I’m still flabbergasted at what Gleaners does and so happy to have been a part of it.” 

But the impact was about more than numbers for some ITC volunteers. For Holly McGlinn, volunteering at Gleaners reminds her that, despite the troublesome events of the world, good people are out there doing good things. “Volunteering at Gleaners is humbling, refreshing, soul searching and ego checking,” says McGlinn. “Volunteering at Gleaners is … uplifting if you want it and enriching if you embrace it.”

Annually, across the United States our volunteer hours are worth an estimated $167 billion in economic value (based on the Independent Sector’s estimate of the average value of a volunteer hour for 2017). We give a lot to help causes we care about.

Gleaners benefits greatly from volunteers who are in the warehouse five days a week, Tuesday-Saturday; the time they give is equal to that of 74 full-time employees.

Some people come as individuals or in small groups, while others come in large groups. Over the past year, 38 business groups scheduled volunteer shifts for 50 or more people. The impact they make is measurable and impactful.

Says Linda Apsey, president and CEO, ITC Holdings Corp., of ITC’s company-wide volunteer day:

“It’s events like today that bring to life the commitment to those we serve. It’s so important to remember that our focus on innovation and building the greater grid has lasting impact – not only on the value we provide to customers, but the lasting impact we are able to make in our communities.” 

Your corporate volunteer group is welcome and needed, with opportunities available at Gleaners’ distribution centers in Detroit, Warren, Taylor, Pontiac and Howell. Learn more here.