تتصدى جامعة واين ستيت لانعدام الأمن الغذائي في الحرم الجامعي

غالبًا ما نتحدث عن كيفية تأثير انعدام الأمن الغذائي على الأشخاص من مختلف الأعمار والمستويات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. تم إجراء الكثير من الأبحاث لدراسة التأثير على الأطفال في سن المدرسة والأسر وكبار السن ، ولكن غالبًا ما يتم تجاهل مجموعة واحدة ؛ المراهقون والشباب في سن الكلية. مع الكثير من التركيز على دفع تكاليف الكلية ، لسوء الحظ ، يمكن في بعض الأحيان دفع مشكلة انعدام الأمن الغذائي جانباً. يعمل الدكتور كيث ويتفيلد ، وكيل الجامعة ونائب الرئيس الأول للشؤون الأكاديمية في جامعة واين ستيت وعضو مجلس إدارة غلينرز ، على تغيير المحادثة.

يقول الدكتور ويتفيلد: "الكلية لا تحدث". "طلاب الكلية الناجحون يأتون من خط أنابيب. إذا لم تبدأ بالتأكد من أنهم يتغذون بشكل صحيح في الصف الثالث والسادس والتاسع والثاني عشر ، عندما يأتون إلينا ، فهذا صراع أكبر ".

لدى الدكتور ويتفيلد شغف بالدراسة ومحاولة تحسين انعدام الأمن الغذائي. تتمثل وظيفته في مساعدة الطلاب على النجاح والتأكد من حصولهم على تغذية جيدة أمر بالغ الأهمية لتحقيق هذا النجاح.

دكتور كيث ويتفيلد

قال الدكتور ويتفيلد: "قد تكون محاولة تحقيق التوازن بين الحياة الواقعية وطموح الالتحاق بالجامعة أمرًا صعبًا". "في بعض الأحيان ، ما ينتهي به الأمر هو أن تكون قادرًا على إطعام نفسك جيدًا."

يقول إن غالبية طلاب واين ستيت يأتون من دائرة نصف قطرها 100 ميل حول مدينة ديترويت. لذلك ، فإن النظر إلى الاحتياجات داخل تلك المجتمعات يمكن أن يساعد في التنبؤ باحتياجات إجمالي عدد الطلاب.

قال الدكتور ويتفيلد: "ما نراه في التعليم العالي هو أن ما كان في السابق طالب جامعي" نموذجي "، طالب يبلغ من العمر 18 عامًا تخرج حديثًا من المدرسة الثانوية ، لم يعد نموذجيًا بعد الآن". "الشخص الذي اعتاد أن يكون طالبًا غير تقليدي هو الآن الطالب التقليدي. حياتهم أكثر تعقيدًا بكثير ".

قام واين ستيت بإحدى مهام الجامعة لمعالجة انعدام الأمن الغذائي ، جزئيًا ، من خلال بدء مخزن طعام يديره الطلاب في الحرم الجامعي يسمى "دبليو". لمدة عامين حتى الآن ، قاموا بتشغيل المخزن بالشراكة مع Gleaners ، حيث يقدمون مجموعة متنوعة من الطعام للطلاب المحتاجين. حتى الآن ، ساعدنا ما يقرب من 1300 طالب ووزعنا أكثر من 17000 رطل من الطعام.

يوضح الدكتور ويتفيلد: "إن W مفتوح لجميع طلابنا ويسمح لهم بالحضور مرة كل أسبوعين".

ويقول إن هذا الجهد ساعد في زيادة الإحساس بالانتماء للمجتمع في الحرم الجامعي وتقليل وصمة العار لأولئك الذين يحتاجون إلى المساعدة. طورت WSU أيضًا مهمة نجاح للطلاب تشمل جميع أجزاء العافية بما في ذلك إدارة الإجهاد واللياقة البدنية والعافية المالية والتأكد من حصول الطلاب على التغذية الكافية حتى يتمكنوا من النجاح.

يقول الدكتور ويتفيلد: "لقد تعلمت الكثير من التواصل مع جلينرز وساعدنا في أخذ بعض هذه الدروس وتطبيقها هنا في الحرم الجامعي". "أشعر بالرضا لأننا نبذل جهودًا متضافرة لتلبية احتياجات الطلاب بهذه الطريقة المهمة جدًا."

تعرف على المزيد حول The W بالضغط هنا. استمع إلى بودكاست Food For Thought حول هذا الموضوع بالضغط هنا.

Skip to content

Wayne State University Tackles Food Insecurity On Campus

We often talk about how food insecurity affects people of various ages and socioeconomic levels. Much research has been done to study the impact on school aged children, families and seniors, but one group often gets overlooked; college-aged teens and young adults. With so much focus on paying for college, unfortunately the issue of food insecurity can sometimes get pushed to the side. Dr. Keith Whitfield, Provost and Sr. Vice President for Academic Affairs at Wayne State University and a Gleaners board member, is changing the conversation.

“College just doesn’t happen,” Dr. Whitfield says. “Successful College students come from a pipeline. If you don’t start by making sure they are properly nourished in 3rd grade, 6th grade, 9th grade and 12th grade, when they come to us, it’s an even bigger struggle.”

Dr. Whitfield has a passion for studying and trying to improve food insecurity. It’s his job to help students succeed and making sure they are well nourished is critical to that success.

Dr. Keith Whitfield

“Trying to balance real life with that aspiration of attending college can be difficult,” Dr. Whitfield said. “Sometimes, what ends up getting caught between the cracks is actually being able to feed yourself well.”

He says the majority of Wayne State students come from within a 100-mile radius around the city of Detroit. Therefore, looking at the needs within those communities can help predict the needs of the overall student population.

“What we are seeing in higher education is that what used to be the ‘typical’ college going student, an 18-year-old fresh out of high school, is not the typical anymore,” Dr. Whitfield said. “The person who used to be the nontraditional student is now the traditional student. Their lives are far more complicated.”

Wayne State has made one of the university’s missions to address food insecurity, in part, by starting a student-run food pantry on campus called ‘The W.’ For two years now, they’ve operated the pantry in partnership with Gleaners, offering a variety of food to students in need. To date we’ve helped approximately 1,300 students and distributed more than 17,000 pounds of food.

“The W is open to all of our students and they’re allowed to come once every two weeks,” Dr. Whitfield explains.

He says this effort has helped to increase the sense of community on campus and reduce the stigma for those who need help. WSU has also developed a student success mission that encompasses all parts of wellness including stress management, physical fitness, financial wellness and making sure students have access to be sufficiently nourished so that they can succeed.

“Being connected with Gleaners has been something that has taught me so much and it’s helped us to take some of those lessons and apply them here on campus,” Dr. Whitfield says. “It makes me feel good that we’re making a concerted effort to meet the needs of students in this very important way.”

Learn more about The W by clicking here. Listen to the Food For Thought podcast on this topic by clicking here.